Wilderness & Wildlands

Special Areas of Note:

Special area designations include National Monuments, National Conservation Areas, Wilderness Areas, Wilderness Study Areas, National Scenic and Historic Trails. These areas both protect our crown jewels and interprets them for the public.

Natural Wildlands

California Desert Conservation Area
Encompasses 25 million acres of public, military, and private lands in Southern California. Adjacent to some of the most populated metropolitan areas in the country, the California Desert contains vast historical, scenic, wilderness, archeaological, environmental, biological, cultural, scientific, educational, recreational, and economic resources.

Areas of Critical Environmental Concern

In California, 137 Areas of Critical Environmental Concern (ACEC) encompass 1.42 million acres. ACEC are administratively designated on public lands where special management attention is required (1) to protect and prevent irreparable damage to fish and wildlife; important historic, cultural, or scenic values; or other natural systems or processes or (2) to protect life and safety from natural hazards.